Athletics Directors Association Recognizes 2009-10 Student-Athletes

Athletics Directors Association Recognizes 2009-10 Student-Athletes

The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) has announced 40 Ferris State University student-athletes as 2009-10 recipients of the DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT.  The list of recipients was released this Tuesday (August 10) through the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level. 

Ninety-two institutions sent in nominees for the 2009-10 Academic Achievement Awards as a total of 3,022 student-athletes are being recognized this year.  The Northeast-10 Conference had 350 student-athletes honored, followed by the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) with 349 nominees.

Representing the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) besides Ferris State were Grand Valley State, Northern Michigan, and Saginaw Valley State.

"While we love to talk about winning within our sport programs, there is not a better "win" to talk about than the academic excellence of our student-athletes," said Ferris State Interim Athletics Director Keri Becker.  "The purpose of intercollegiate athletics within higher education is to prepare our student-athletes to be successful in their careers, however individual academic achievement of this level ensures they will be successful!"

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA. 

Also, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale, have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work, and have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year.

"We want to thank and congratulate those colleges and universities which took part in honoring its student-athletes," stated Division II ADA President Greg Waggoner, director of athletics at Western State College of Colorado. "We look forward to continued participation in the future and wish everyone the best of luck during the upcoming year.  We also want to thank WeatherPORT for making this important recognition possible." 

The DII ADA, which is administered by the National Association of College Directors of Athletics and is in its 46th year, is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors.

2009-10 Ferris State D2 Athletics Directors Association Achievement Award Recipients

Matt Wellman Football
Charles Wasson Football
Catlin  Porter Football
Taylor Phillips Football
Tom Schneider Football
Trevor Smolinski Football
Kevin Ward Football
Kari Alsager Women's Soccer
Ellen Phillips Women's Soccer
Kasey Ruimveld Women's Soccer
Stevie Salow Women's Soccer
Mekyla Spraggins Women's Soccer
Chelsea Morris Softball
Kayle Stevenson Softball
Bryce Hetchler Women's Golf
Scott Schuitema Men's Golf
Kyle Wittenbach Men's Golf
Kelsey DeNoyelles Women's Basketball
Tricia Principe Women's Basketball
Samantha  Fordyce Women's Volleyball
Ashley Huntey Women's Volleyball
Dana Ruttle Women's Volleyball
Anne Sutton Women's Volleyball
Lisa Tobiczyk Women's Volleyball
Daniela Dimas Women's Tennis
Amy  Ingle Women's Tennis
Kyle Revall Men's Tennis
Jack Swan Men's Tennis
Greg Burns Men's Track & Field
Derek Childs Men's Track & Field
Steve Neshkoff Men's Track & Field
Justin Price Men's Track & Field
Brian Reynolds Men's Track & Field
Dan Volk Men's Track & Field
Sarah Creed Women's Track & Field
Emily Cross Women's Track & Field
Amy  Joostberns Women's Track & Field
Tina Muir Women's Track & Field
Paige Onweller Women's Track & Field
Jessica Schewe Women's Track & Field