Ferris State Athletics' Marketing Efforts Receive National Recognition

Ferris State Athletics' Marketing Efforts Receive National Recognition

The Ferris State University Athletics Department recently received a bronze medal by the National Association of College Marketing Administrators (NACMA) during its "Best of" awards ceremony held on Wednesday, June 23. 

Ferris State earned its third-place award in the category of "TV Commerical" as the 2009-10 Bulldog hockey commerical was aired on ESPN, TBS, Fox News Channel, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, and USA during home game weeks.  The commerical video, which was produced by Ferris State alumnus Derek Rottman through the direction of FSU Associate Athletics Director Jon Coles, can be accessed by clicking on this link.

The winners were announced during the NACMA's 19th Annual Convention, which was held June 22-25 at the Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif.  Initiated in 2003, the NACMA Awards program honors outstanding achievement in marketing and promotions.  Awards are presented in 16 categories with each category divided into three groups based upon school size and conference affiliations to promote fairness.  More than 650 entries were received for the 2009-10 athletics season.

NACMA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of athletics marketing administrators.

NACMA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA). Now in its 45th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,500 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,300 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, NACDA administers 11 professional associations that come under the umbrella of the Athletics Director. For more information, visit www.nacda.com.

For more information on the 2010 NACMA Awards and a complete list of the award winners, click on www.nacma.com.

TV Commercial
  Place Institution
Group I Gold University of California
  Silver University of Texas El Paso
  Bronze Brigham Young University
Group II Gold Portland State University
  Silver Xavier University
  Bronze University of South Dakota
Group III Gold Colorado College
  Silver California State University, Chico
  Bronze Ferris State University