Spring Football Game To Be Broadcast Live By Sunny 97.3 FM & Bulldog Sports Network

Spring Football Game To Be Broadcast Live By Sunny 97.3 FM & Bulldog Sports Network

Click Here To Watch/Listen Online

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Bulldog Sports Network, in conjunction with local flagship station Sunny 97.3 FM and Ferris State Television, has announced this Saturday's (April 22) Ferris State Football Crimson & Gold Spring Game will be carried live both locally and around the world.

Sunny 97.3 FM and FerrisStateBulldogs.com will provide a live broadcast of the game beginning with pregame coverage at 12:30 p.m. (ET) from the Wheeler Pavilion at Top Taggart Field. The Bulldog Football play-by-play tandem of Rob Bentley and Sandy Gholston will call all the action with kickoff set for 1 p.m. (ET).

Along with the live radio coverage and audio broadcast, a FREE TV video feed will also be provided thru FSU's multimedia portal at FerrisStateBulldogs.com in conjunction with Ferris State Television and FSU's Television & Digital Media Production (TDMP) program. Fans inside the stadium will also hear the live play-by-play call of the game over the public address system. In addition, fans can also follow live scoring updates via @FerrisFootball on twitter.

The Crimson & Gold Spring Game will wrap up FSU's official spring practice drills under head coach Tony Annese.  The defending Super Region Champions opened the spring workouts on March 21 and the slate includes a total of 15 workouts per NCAA regulations.

Saturday's contest will provide fans with an opportunity to watch the Bulldogs for the first time since last fall's run to the national semifinals in a game-like situation under Coach Annese and his staff. The spring game will feature a modified scoring and timing format.

Admission to Saturday's spring game is free and several events will take place in conjunction with the contest, including a special co-ed punt, pass & kick challenge at halftime.

Saturday's game will once again also coincide with the "The Big Event". Students and members of the FSU community will take part in the 10th annual "Big Event", an annual community-wide cleanup and service effort in Big Rapids on Saturday morning. The important civic initiative which ranks as the state's largest student-led community service event.

The Bulldogs will begin their 109th season of varsity competition this coming fall with their sights set on making a fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Division II Playoffs.

Ferris State is coming off another historic campaign as the Bulldogs posted a 12-3 overall record in 2016 while advancing to the NCAA Division II National Semifinals for only the second time in school history. In 2016, the Bulldogs also posted a school-record tying 12 victories. Ferris State received the program's third-straight NCAA Football Playoff berth and captured the Super Region Four Championship by beating archrival Grand Valley State during a memorable postseason run. The 15-week campaign, which included three postseason playoff wins, was the school's longest in 108 years of Bulldog Football.

Over the last three seasons at Ferris State, the Bulldogs have compiled a 34-5 overall record and claimed two conference championships, posted two unbeaten regular-seasons, captured a regional title and reached the national semifinals. Ferris State has also accumulated two Harlon Hill National Player of the Year trophies, twice had a student-athlete tabbed as the nation's National Scholar-Athlete of the Year and won four postseason games.

In the five seasons under Annese, the Bulldogs have become a national power on the Division II level. FSU has posted a 49-12 overall mark in the last five years and the Bulldogs have also posted the best winning percentage of all 21 collegiate programs in the state of Michigan along with the GLIAC since his arrival.

Overall, Annese has won 83% of his games as a head coach on the collegiate and prep levels and owns 274 wins to date, which is the most of any current GLIAC member head coach at all levels.

Ferris State will return nearly 60 letterwinners for the 2017 campaign, including nearly 18 starters.