Ferris State Hockey Recognizes 2012-13 Award Recipients

Ferris State Hockey Recognizes 2012-13 Award Recipients

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University men's ice hockey team recently announced its 2012-13 season award recipients.  The honorees were recognized during the annual Awards Banquet hosted by the FSU Blueline Club at Falcon Head Golf Course.

In addition to the awards presented at the banquet, the Bulldogs also honored 2012-13 Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) award recipients and heard comments from the senior class, which included forwards Kyle Bonis, Eric Alexander, Travis Ouellette and Matthew Kirzinger along with goaltender Rob Granett.

Below is a complete listing of the Award recipients:

Blue Line Club Award - Jack and Joan Wellnitz
Blue Line Competitive Award - Scott Czarnowczan/Kyle Bonis
Rookie of the Year - Brandon Anselmini
Most Improved Player - Justin DeMartino/Dom Panetta
Lloyd Earl Leading Scorer Award - Kyle Bonis
Plus/Minus Award - Travis Ouellette (+10)
President's Award - Jason Binkley (Top Scholar Athlete)

Additionally, the Bulldogs honored the school's Dean's Academic Award recipeints.  The listing of winners included Binkley, Bonis, Justin Buzzeo, Czarnowczan, Granett, Cory Kane, Kirzinger, CJ Motte and Travis White.  All Dean's Award recipients compiled at least a 3.25 grade point average and have completed at least 24 credit hours at Ferris State.

The Bulldogs ended their 2012-13 season with a 16-16-5 overall record and placed fifth in their final season of CCHA competition. Ferris State moves to the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) due to college hockey realignment next season.

The five Bulldog senior helped FSU earned a first-round bye in the league tournament this year for the fourth consecutive season as FSU joined Miami as the lone league member to receive a bye in each of the final four years of the CCHA.  Together, they also were key members of FSU's 2011-12 squad that won the CCHA regular-season crown and advanced to the national championship game at the Frozen Four.

Since the conclusion of the season, four of the five Bulldog seniors have moved on to professional hockey.  Both Bonis and Kirzinger signed American Hockey League (AHL) contracts while Alexander began his professional career in the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) this spring and Oullette is currently playing professionally in Australia.