FSU's Motte One Of Five National Finalists For Premier Player of College Hockey Award

FSU's Motte One Of Five National Finalists For Premier Player of College Hockey Award

Click Here To Vote For Ferris State's CJ Motte

Big Rapids, Mich. - Ferris State University junior goaltender CJ Motte (St. Clair, Mich.) has recently been chosen as one of five national finalists for the 2014 Premier Player of College Hockey Award.

The Premier Player Trophy is presented annually to collegiate athletes the fans vote as the best in the sports of baseball, basketball (M & W), football, hockey and softball.  A poll is released at the beginning of a sports season with a list of top athletes for fans to follow.  At midseason, the poll is adjusted to include up to five additional highly performing athletes.  Fans then have until the end of the season to vote for The Premier Player of his or her sport.  

The five athletes with the most votes are then invited to a charitable dinner where the overall winner is announced.  Proceeds from the charitable awards dinners go to The Premier Players Sports Foundation and other nonprofits with a focus on orphaned, foster care or special needs children.  

Motte, who last week was named as a top 10 finalist for the 2014 Hobey Baker Award presented to college hockey's most outstanding player, is joined on the list of five national finalists for the Premier Player honor by goaltender Connor Hellebuyck of Massachusetts-Lowell, junior forward Johnny Gaudreau of Boston College, senior forward Michael Mersch of Wisconsin along with junior defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere of Union.

Fans have until March 31 to help determine this year's Premier Player of College Hockey Award and can vote online at this link: http://www.premierplayers.com/you-decide-vote-2/hockey

Motte recently moved into second place in career victories for a Bulldog goaltender and owns a 47-28-10 career record to date. His 27 total wins in net this season rank as the second-best seasonal figure in school history behind the 30 wins posted by Mike Brown in the memorable 2002-03 campaign.

Motte was also among the nominees for the inaugural Mike Richter Goaltender of the Year honor and is the latest in a series of talented Bulldog goaltenders over the past decade that most recently also included former All-Americans Pat Nagle (2011) and Taylor Nelson (2012). His total of 27 wins this season is three more than any other goaltender in the country.

The junior standout's play has helped the Bulldogs compile a nation-leading 28 victories to date, which ranks second on FSU's all-time single season chart. The Bulldogs also captured the 2013-14 Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Regular-Season Championship in their debut season and reached the title game at the WCHA Final Five Championship this past weekend in Grand Rapids at Van Andel Arena.

Motte and the Bulldogs earned the program's third-ever NCAA Division I Tournament berth and will square off against Colgate on Friday (March 28) in the Midwest Regional at the U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati, Ohio. The winner of the regional semifinal game will face either Wisconsin or North Dakota in the Midwest final on Saturday (March 29) night at 6:30 p.m. (ET) with a berth in the 2014 Frozen Four on the line.

Click Here To Vote For Ferris State's CJ Motte

View: Mobile | Desktop