Ferris State Closes Weekend Road Series In Huntsville With Split After Setback


Huntsville, Ala. - The Ferris State University men's ice hockey team saw its three-game Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) win streak come to an end in a 5-3 loss to the Alabama Huntsville Chargers on Saturday (Nov. 25) night at the Von Braun Center.

Junior forward Zac Tierney had a goal and an assist while sophomore defenseman Nate Kallen added a pair of assists in the loss.

The Bulldogs opened the scoring when junior forward and captain Corey Mackin scored his fourth goal of the year at 1:13 of the opening frame from Kallen (5) and junior defenseman Ryker Killins (6).

UAH's Josh Kestner scored on the power play from Brandon Parker and Tyler Poulsen at 1:21 of the second period to even the score at 1-1.

Alabama Huntsville took a 2-1 lead when Brandon Salerno scored shorthanded at 3:34 of the second from Brennan Saulnier.

Ferris State struck back with two-straight goals, first when Tierney scored on a deflection on the power play at 17:02 for his first goal of the season from redshirt sophomore defenseman Zach Yoder (3) and sophomore defenseman Joe Rutkowski (5).

Senior forward Mitch Maloney scored his fourth goal of the weekend and 12th of the year to tie his career-high for a single season for a 3-2 Bulldog lead on a breakaway from Kallen (6) and Tierney (1).

Alabama Huntsville, though, struck for three-straight even third period goals to pull away, first at 10:06 of when John Meets scored from Madison Dunn and Hans Gorowsky, then at 12:54 when Salerno scored his second from Poulsen, and finally Gorowsky scored from Kestner at 18:05.

In the loss, junior goaltender Darren Smith made 21 stops, while UAH's Jordan Uhelski picked up the win on 32 saves.

The Bulldog power play unit was 1-6, while the Chargers went 1-3. The Chargers scored twice shorthanded, but were outshot 35-26 on the night by Ferris State.

Ferris State returns home to take on the Alaska-Anchorage Seawolves Friday and Saturday, Dec. 1-2, in WCHA action inside the Ewigleben Ice Arena. Opening puck drop is set for 7:07 p.m. (ET).