GLIAC Champion Ferris State Places Five On All-Conference Tennis Squad

Men's Tennis

Click Here For GLIAC Release

Big Rapids, Mich. - Five members of the 2018 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Champion Ferris State University men's tennis squad earned all-conference laurels this season as the league announced its annual postseason award recipients in conjunction with the GLIAC Tournament this past weekend.

The Bulldogs had a pair of first-team all-conference honorees in juniors Steward Sell (Kalamazoo) and Nur Adim Ramdani Iswan (Makassar, Indonesia) along with two second-team choices in senior Daniil Tarantinov (Moscow, Russia) and Pablo Munoz Baroja (San Sebastian, Spain). In addition, sophomore Austin DeBruyne (Plantation, Fla.) was an honorable mention honoree.

Together, the honorees helped the Bulldogs win a fourth-straight GLIAC Regular Season Championship this year along with a third consecutive GLIAC Tournament Championship. Over the past four years, the Bulldogs have compiled a 83-17 overall mark and a perfect 35-0 record in conference regular-season play.

The 2018 campaign represents the third consecutive year in which FSU has won both the GLIAC Regular-Season & Tournament Championships in the same year. The Bulldogs did so for the first time since the tournament moved to its current dual team format in 2016 before repeating the feat the last two years. FSU last won both in the same campaign in 1994 prior to the current stretch, but the tourney was structured then in an individual-based scoring format.

This year also marks the third-straight time in which Ferris State claimed the GLIAC Tournament Championship. It is also only the fourth league postseason crown in the last 18 years as the 2012 crown was FSU's first since 1999 prior to the 2016-18 seasons.

This season, Ferris State also won the GLIAC's outright regular-season title for the fourth-straight year. Prior to the last four years, Northwood had won the previous 20 regular-season crowns in a row dating back to 1995, including a share of the title with FSU in 1999. Either Northwood or Ferris State have won the GLIAC Championship in the regular season every year since 1982. The two schools shared the crown in 1982 before FSU had a 12-year run as the outright champion prior to the NU stretch.

The Bulldogs, who are ranked 19th nationally in the most recent Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Midwest Regional Rankings, own a 20-2 overall record and were a perfect 8-0 in GLIAC regular-season action. FSU has won its last 17 matches in a row to date this year.

Ferris State has officially received the program's 22nd all-time NCAA Tournament berth and drew the number three seed in the Midwest Region. FSU will travel next week to Springfield, Mo., to face sixth-seeded Northwood in one of two Midwest Regional events on Monday (April 30) on the campus of Drury University. Match time is set for 11 a.m. (ET).

Drury will host the Midwest Regional #2 bracket and face seventh-seeded Grand Valley State also starting at 11 a.m. (ET) on Monday. The regional final will pit the two winners on Tuesday (May 1) starting at 4 p.m. (ET).

The winner of the four-team event on the men's side will move on to the NCAA-II round of 16 set for May 9-12 in Surprise, Ariz.