Ferris State In Fifth Place In 2010-11 GLIAC President's Trophy Standings

Ferris State In Fifth Place In 2010-11 GLIAC President's Trophy Standings

*2010-11 GLIAC President's Trophy Standings* - (PDF)Get Acrobat Reader

With the recent conclusion of the winter sports season, Ferris State University presently ranks fifth place in the 2010-11 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) President's Trophy Standings with 84.5 points overall.

The Bulldogs presently trail fourth-place Findlay (85.0) by one-half point and are 12 points in back of Wayne State (96.5) for third-place honors.  Grand Valley State is tops with 143.0 points followed by Ashland's second-place 108.0 points total.

For Ferris State, the men's teams have recorded a combined 38.0 points while the women's teams have compiled 46.5 points.

This winter, the FSU men's basketball team earned a sport-best tying 13.5 points as a result of being crowned North Division champions. 

The conference spring sports which will be assigned scoring points are baseball, tennis, and outdoor track and field for the men while the women's sports feature softball, golf, and outdoor track and field.   

The GLIAC President's Cup, which is commonly referred to as the All-Sports Trophy, is awarded annually at the conclusion of competition to the conference member who has demonstrated general excellence in all or most sports.  The award is designed to promote well-rounded athletic programs within each member institution.  

The GLIAC President's Trophy standings are based on final regular season standings with the exception of cross country, golf, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, and swimming and diving which are based upon the conference tournament finish.

Ferris State has won 14 GLIAC President's Trophies since the award's inception with the 1972-73 season.  The Bulldogs claimed the conference trophy in 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1984-85, 1985-86, 1986-87, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1990-91, 1991-92, 1992-93, and 1993-94. 

The GLIAC is comprised of xx member institutions - Ferris State University, Grand Valley State University, Wayne State University, Ashland University, University of Findlay, Hillsdale College, Lake Erie College, Lake Superior State University, Michigan Technological University, Northern Michigan University, Northwood University, Ohio Dominican University, Saginaw Valley State University, and Tiffin University.   The University of Indianapolis is an associate member which competes in football and men's & women's swimming and diving only.  Lewis University is also an associate member and participates in men's & women's swimming and diving only for the GLIAC.   

*GLIAC President's Trophy Year-By-Year Standings*-(PDF)Get Acrobat Reader