Athletics Directors Association Honors 2010-11 Student-Athletes

Athletics Directors Association Honors 2010-11 Student-Athletes

The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) has announced 42 Ferris State University student-athletes as 2010-11 recipients of the DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards.  The list of recipients was released this Wednesday (August 10) through the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level. 

Ninety-eight institutions sent in nominees for the 2010-11 Academic Achievement Awards as a total of 3,676 student-athletes are being recognized this year.  The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) led the way with 434 of its student-athletes being honored followed by the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) with 381 nominees.

Representing the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) besides Ferris State were Northern Michigan and Wayne State.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA. 

Also, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale, have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work, and have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year.

"Congratulations to all of this year's Academic Achievement Award winners," stated Division II ADA President Greg Waggoner, director of athletics at Western State College of Colorado. "We want to thank and congratulate those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes and look forward to continued participation in the future." 

The DII ADA, which is administered by the National Association of College Directors of Athletics and is in its 47th year, is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors.

2010-11 Ferris State D2 Athletics Directors Association Achievement Award Recipients 

Caitlin Carmody Women's Basketball
Kelsey DeNoyelles Women's Basketball
Kylie Muntz Women's Basketball
Tricia Principe Women's Basketball
Ryan Chute Men's Cross Country
Michael Schulte Men's Cross Country
Shelby Janutol Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Tina Muir Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Paige Onweller Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Alyssa Osika Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Anna Rudd Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Felicia Slate Women's Track & Field
Muneer Bawayeh Football
Cody Hillman Football
Taylor Phillips Football
Catlin Porter Football
Tom Schneider Football
Trevor Smolinski Football
Scott Schuitema Men's Golf
Kyle  Wittenbach Men's Golf
Bryce Hetchler Women's Golf
Cassie Aro Women's Soccer
Kasey Ruimveld Women's Soccer
Mekyla Spraggins Women's Soccer
Morgan Kramerich Softball
Chelsea Morris Softball
Makenzi Peterson Softball
Kyle Revall Men's Tennis
Jack Swan Men's Tennis
Amy Ingle Women's Tennis
Blair McCarty Women's Tennis
Michael Baldwin Men's Track & Field
Justin Price Men's Track & Field
Christa Cwiek Women's Track & Field
Zoey Hohmann Women's Track & Field
Amy Joostberns Women's Track & Field
Jade Kaufman Women's Track & Field
Jessica Schewe Women's Track & Field
Samantha Fordyce Women's Volleyball
Ashley Huntey Women's Volleyball
Anne Sutton Women's Volleyball
Lisa Tobiczyk Women's Volleyball