Huntey Chosen As Bouyer Leadership Recipient

Huntey Chosen As Bouyer Leadership Recipient

Big Rapids, Mich. - Senior outside hitter Ashley Huntey (Stanwood/Morley-Stanwood) of the Ferris State University women's volleyball team has been chosen as the recipient of the FSU Athletics Department's Willie Bouyer Leadership Award for the 2011-12 campaign.

The Willie Bouyer Leadership Award, which is regarded as the most prestigious of the FSU Athletics Department's four annual major honors, is named in memory of Ferris State's first All-America football student-athlete Willie Bouyer.  Bouyer was tragically killed in his hometown of Detroit in 1977. The recipient is chosen by a FSU Athletics Department committee.

Candidates for the award are judged on their strong inspirational leadership and dedication to fellow Ferris State student-athletes.  The nominees also should be involved outside of athletics in other college and community activities along with participating on a varsity athletics team for at least two years.  The Willie Bouyer Leadership Award was reinstated upon the conclusion of the 2002-03 season following a seven-year absence.

"Ashley is an outstanding leader and very deserving of this award," said FSU Athletics Director Perk Weisenburger.  "Her leadership was a big reason why our volleyball team won a GLIAC Championship and reached the NCAA Regional Semifinals this past season.  She is an outstanding choice as the recipient of this leadership award in the name of Willie Bouyer."

A three-time All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) and GLIAC All-Academic Team honoree, Huntey claimed AVCA Division II All-America Third Team honors last fall after leading the Bulldogs to a league title and the NCAA Division II Midwest Regional Semifinals. Huntey received GLIAC Player of the Week accolades four times in her senior season and became only the seventh player in FSU history to notch both 1,000 career kills and digs.

The team captain led the GLIAC in points (472) and ranked second in kills (404) in the fall 2011 campaign. A three-time GLIAC All-Academic Team selection, Huntey totaled 10 or more kills in 25 matches. Additionally, she was named to the Capital One Academic All-District First Team and also received both AVCA and Daktronics All-Midwest Region First Team honors as FSU posted a 27-4 overall record and a first-place 18-1 league mark. Huntey was a recipient of the prestigious GLIAC Commissioner's Award for her accomplishments.

Huntey is the third volleyball student-athlete in school history to receive the Willie Bouyer Leadership Award, following in the footsteps of Brittny Godlewski (2004-05 & 2005-06) along with Danielle Baucher (2006-07).

The other 2011-12 nominees for the Willie Bouyer Leadership Award included Chad Billins (Hockey), Tommy Hill (Hockey), Dontae Molden (Men's Basketball), Lindsey Pettit (Women's Basketball), Makenzi Peterson (Softball) and Tom Schneider (Football).   

Willie Bouyer Leadership Award Recipients 
2011-12 – Ashley Huntey (Volleyball)
2010-11 – Matt DeHart (Men's Basketball)
2009-10 – Casey Haines (Men's Ice Hockey) and Kurt Valley (Men's Golf)
2008-09 – Holly Bruntjens (Softball)
2007-08 – Raquel Hansen (Women's Golf) and Katie Kraai (Softball)
2006-07 – Danielle Baucher (Women's Volleyball) and Raquel Hansen (Women's Golf)
2005-06 – Brittny Godlewski (Women's Volleyball) and Jeffrey Shanahan (Men's Basketball)
2004-05 – Brittny Godlewski (Women's Volleyball) and Navreet Gill (Softball)
2003-04 – Melissa Worsley (Softball) and Derrick McIver (Men's Ice Hockey)
2002-03 – Steve Picucci (Mens' Cross Country and Men's Track & Field)
1995-96 – Benny Roe (Football)
1994-95 – Tim Christian (Men’s Ice Hockey)
1993-94 – Jere Getzinger (Wrestling and Football)
1992-93 – Dave Morin (Baseball)
1991-92 – Erica Thomas (Women’s Basketball)
1990-91 – Mark Kamppinen (Baseball)
1989-90 – Doug Mooney (Wrestling) and Jody Johnson (Softball)
1988-89 – Jim Beson (Football and Wrestling)
1987-88 – Sam Sweet (Men’s Track and Field)
1986-87 – Paul Surmont (Cheerleading – Bulldog Mascot)
1985-86 – Kurt Stevens (Men’s Basketball)
1984-85 – Steve Piotraczk (Football), Katy Kelley (Women’s Basketball)
1980-81 – Fred Kirkland (Football and Men's Track & Field)