Bulldog Football Well-Represented On All-GLIAC Teams

Bulldog Football Well-Represented On All-GLIAC Teams

Click Here For All-GLIAC Release

Big Rapids, Mich. - The Ferris State University football team had a total of 11 football players named to the 2012 All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Football Team in an announcement made Wednesday (Nov. 14) afternoon by the conference office.

FSU had three student-athletes chosen to the all-defensive first team along with a second team selection on both the offensive and defensive side in addition to six honorable mention picks.

Additionally, Bulldog redshirt freshman quarterback Jason Vander Laan (Frankfort, Ill./Chicago Christian) picked up one of the league's seven major awards by being tabbed as the "Freshman of the Year".

The first-team selections included a trio of seniors in defensive ends Jordan Morgan (Chicago, Ill./Mt. Carmel) and Brad Iskow (Bad Axe) along with senior linebacker Tayo Moss (South Rockwood/Monroe St. Mary's).

On the second team listing, the honorees included Bulldog senior left tackle Trevor Smolinski (Battle Creek/Marshall) on the offensive side and senior defensive back Jaime Barrera (Fremont, Calif./Washington) on the defensive side.

Six others attained honorable mention all-league accolades, including redshirt freshman center Adam Bennett (Romeo), sophomore wide receiver Jake Lampman (East Lansing/Haslett), junior offensive tackle Carlin Landingham (Muskegon), senior back Skyler Stoker (Jackson/Grass Lake), sophomore defensive tackle Corey Stone (Sterling Heights/Stevenson) and Vander Laan.

Moss was a repeat honoree as a first team all-league selection while Morgan moved up to the first team after claiming second team status a season ago. Iskow climbed to first-team status after earning honorable mention laurels each of the last two seasons while Smolinski moved up to the second team following an honorable mention campaign in 2011.  Stoker was a repeat pick to the honorable mention team.

The all-conference balloting was conducted by the league's head coaches via a teleconference and online voting process.

Vander Laan shined in his first campaign running a new offense under first-year head coach Tony Annese en route to GLIAC Freshman of the Year recognition.  The standout signal caller directed the Bulldogs to only the program's second season with seven or more victories in the last decade, which included FSU's first win over rival Grand Valley State since 1999 and the program's first triumph over divisional opponent Michigan Tech in 10 years.  

Vander Laan established a GLIAC single-season record for rushing yardage by a quarterback as he ran for a FSU rookie record 1,338 yards on 247 carries (5.4 avg.) and 16 touchdowns in leading the Bulldogs. His team-high rushing total helped the Bulldogs rank among the nation's top 10 teams in both rushing offense and total offense as Ferris State shattered a school record with 3,364 yards on the ground and averaged 473 yards per game of total offense.  He was 133 of 231 in the air for 1,493 yards and 13 scores.  Ferris State led the GLIAC in rushing and placed second in total offense while facing one of the nation's toughest schedules, according to the Massey Ratings.

Vander Laan finished third in the league in rushing (121.6 ypg.), fourth in total offense (257.4 ypg.), sixth in scoring (9.1 ppg.) along with eighth in passing (135.7 ypg.).  He placed 17th nationally in Division II rushing yardage.

Moss led the conference in stops for the second-straight year with a league-high 116 total tackles. He added eight tackles for loss (-14 yards), two fumble recoveries, two pass breakups and a forced fumble while starting all 11 contests.  His totals included a school-record 82-yard fumble recovery return for a score.

Iskow ranked first in the conference and second nationally this campaign in tackles for loss with a school single-season record 25.5 TFL's on the year.  He concluded his career with 164 total tackles, 45 tackles for loss (-147 yards), 13 sacks, eight quarterback hurries, six forced fumbles, four pass breakups and two blocked kicks in 39 games played.

On the opposite side, Morgan led the league in sacks with 10.5 total for -46 yards on the season. He also ranked second behind Iskow in tackles for loss with 14.0 (-52 yards).  Morgan had two forced fumbles, two hurries, a blocked kick and a fumble recovery while making 65 total stops, including 35 solo efforts.  He wrapped up his career as the school-record holder in blocked kicks and finished third in total sacks.

A three-year starter, Smolinski spearheaded a young offensive line that helped the Bulldogs post a school single-season rushing yardage total.  FSU was among the nation's top offensive teams in both total offense and rushing offense along with fewest sacks allowed. He picked up his fourth varsity letter this season.

Barrera returned for his final campaign as a second-year starter in 2012 and posted 76 total tackles to rank third among the team leaders.  He had a team-high 48 solo hits and added three pass breakups, 3.5 tackles for loss and an interception.

Among the honorable mention selections, Bennett made the most of his first campaign as he started all 11 contests and took every snap this season at center. Landingham was a mainstay on the offensive line in his initial season with the Bulldogs and played both guard and tackles at various points during the campaign.

Stoker was among the league leaders in all-purpose yardage and compiled 526 rushing yards along with making 26 catches for 353 yards.  He also served as the Bulldogs' punter and was a primary kickoff returner.

On the outside, Lampman paced the Bulldogs with 43 catches for 717 yards and caught seven TD's in his sophomore campaign.  Additionally, he also ran 10 times for 66 yards.

Finally, Stone played in all 11 games on the defensive line and posted 30 tackles with 4.5 for loss (-10 yards) in addition to a sack and a quarterback hurry.

In addition to the all-conference teams, the league's annual postseason award winners were announced and included Ashland quarterback Taylor Housewright as the league's Player of the Year.

Ferris State wrapped up a successful 2012 campaign and the first season under head coach Tony Annese with a 7-4 overall record, which marked only the second time in the past decade the Bulldogs have achieved seven or more victories in a campaign.

2012 Ferris State Football All-GLIAC Honorees:

GLIAC Freshman Of The Year -- Jason Vander Laan (QB)
First Team Defense -- Tayo Moss (LB), Jordan Morgan (DE), Brad Iskow (DE)
Second Team Offense -- Trevor Smolinski (T)
Second Team Defense -- Jaime Barrera (S)
Honorable Mention -- Adam Bennett (C), Skyler Stoker (RB), Carlin Landingham (OT), Jake Lampman (WR), Corey Stone (DT), Jason Vander Laan (QB)