Bob Daniels Named CCHA Coach Of The Year

Bob Daniels Named CCHA Coach Of The Year

Note: Pictured Are Bob Daniels (left) & Steve Cady (right),
(Miami Senior Associate AD)

Farmington Hills
, Mich. –  Ferris State University men's ice hockey head coach Bob Daniels has claimed Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) Coach of the Year accolades for the second time in his career for his efforts in leading the Bulldogs this campaign.

Daniels was named the CCHA Coach of the Year at the annual CCHA Awards Show held Thursday (March 15) night as the league presented 11 individual awards at Detroit's historic Fox Theatre, including six determined by a vote of the league's 11 head coaches.,

Ferris State, picked to place ninth in the league in a preseason coaches poll, finished in first place for the second time in school history under Daniels' direction. The Bulldogs went on a 15-game unbeaten streak at the end of the regular season, vaulting them to No. 1 in the nation for the first time in program history.  They are expected to receive the program's second-ever NCAA Tournament berth this season and own a current 23-11-5 overall record under his guidance.

Daniels, the 2002-03 American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Division I Hockey Coach of the Year and the all-time winningest coach in Ferris State University hockey history, is presently in his 20th year at FSU in the 2011-12 season. 

Daniels previously earned recognition as the CCHA's unanimous choice for Coach of the Year honors in 2002-03 when Ferris State turned in its best season performance ever in the program's NCAA Division I history with a school-best 31-10-1 overall record. The Bulldogs also claimed their first-ever CCHA Regular-Season Championship title and advanced to the NCAA Championship Tournament's West Regional title game in their initial NCAA Tourney appearance.

More recently, Daniels was also tabbed as a finalist for CCHA Coach of the Year honors in  both 2007-08 and 2009-10. He was also honored as the 2002-03 Coach of the Year by both Inside College Hockey (INCH) and the March of Dimes West Michigan Sports Awards. The crowning highlight in Daniels' coaching career occurred April 17, 2003, when he was selected the recipient of the 2003 Spencer Penrose Award as the AHCA's Division I National Hockey Coach of the Year.

Having the longest tenure of any FSU hockey coach, Daniels has coached eight All-Americans during his coaching career at Ferris, including 2002-03 Hobey Baker Hat Trick Award finalist and FSU's first-ever CCHA Player of the Year Chris Kunitz.

In addition to Daniels' recognition, Ferris State senior defenseman Chad Billins was named the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. A marketing major with a 3.82 GPA, Billins is a three-time Dean's Academic Award winner and a finalist for this year's Lowe's CLASS Award. The Marysville, Mich., native tied Michigan State's Torey Krug for the league lead among defensemen in assists with 18, while finishing second on his team in scoring with 29 points overall.

Krug was named the RBC Financial Group CCHA Player of the Year at the annual CCHA Awards Show.  He tied for the league lead in points with 29, making him the first defenseman to accomplish the feat since 1986-87. The Livonia, Mich., native recorded 12 goals and 33 points overall, including nine multi-point performances, good for fifth nationally among blueliners. His +18 is tied for eighth among defensemen in the country.

Michigan's Alex Guptill, the 2012 Rookie of the Year, was the only freshman to be named the league's Postgame Offensive Player of the Week. The Wolverines forward was also Gongshow CCHA Rookie of the Week twice as well as the Gongshow CCHA Rookie of the Month in January. Guptill led Michigan and all CCHA rookies in scoring both overall (16-16-32) and in league play (13-12-25). His totals tied him for the national lead among first-year players in goals while tying him for eighth in points.

Miami senior goaltender Cody Reichard received the Mike and Marian Ilitch Humanitarian Award as the league's top citizen, based on his contributions off the ice, as well as on, to his team, his program, his school and his community. Reichard, a Celina, Ohio native, was inspired by the generous amounts of community service NHL players perform and decided to bring that love and support for the community to the college game. He came up with Swoop's Stoop after talking about it at length with his goalie coach. Swoop's Stoop is an initiative that seeks to help sick children at the Cincinnati Children's Hospital. The program started out small by recognizing a few children at Miami home hockey games and has now expanded into a fully-funded program providing many more opportunities for children facing life-threatening illnesses.

Lake Superior junior forward Domenic Monardo was presented with the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award in recognition of his perseverance, dedication and courage while overcoming severe adversity. In the 2007-08 season, Monardo broke his C2 vertebra, which contains major blood vessels to the brain, while playing junior hockey in Oakville, Ont. Monardo managed to avoid surgery but was fitted for a neck brace and told he might never play hockey again. This season, Monardo led the Lakers in points with a scoring line of 11-18-29.

Krug was named CCHA Best Offensive Defenseman for the second straight year. The Spartans second-year captain saved his best for league play, recording 11 of his 12 goals in conference action as well as 29 of his 33 overall points. Krug became the first blueliner in school history to lead all CCHA players in points.

Western Michigan sophomore Dan DeKeyser was honored as the Best Defensive Defenseman. DeKeyser finished  +11 this season while racking up 30 minutes of ice time per game.

Michigan senior captain Luke Glendening became the second Wolverine in as many seasons to win the Best Defensive Forward award. Ex-Michigan standout Carl Hagelin won the award in 2011. Glendening was a part of a Wolverines squad that gave up just 2.14 goals-per game, second in the league this season.

2011-12 CCHA Award Winners
RBC Player of the Year: Torey Krug, Michigan State
Coach of the Year: Bob Daniels, Ferris State
Rookie of the Year: Alex Guptill, Michigan
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chad Billins, Ferris State
Terry Flanagan: Domenic Monardo, Lake Superior
Ilitch Humanitarian: Cody Reichard, Miami
Best Offensive Defenseman: Torey Krug, Michigan State
Best Defensive Defenseman: Dan DeKeyser, Western Michigan
Best Defensive Forward: Luke Glendening, Michigan

— CCHA —