Janutol Earns GLIAC Commissioner's Honor

Janutol Earns GLIAC Commissioner's Honor

Big Rapids, Mich. - Junior runner Shelby Janutol (Troy) of the Ferris State University women's track and field team was recently recognized as a winter recipient of the Meijer GLIAC Commissioner's Award for her performance both on and off the track.

The awards, sponsored by Meijer, Incorporated, are presented after the Fall, Winter, and Spring athletic seasons to six female and six male student-athletes that excel both in the classroom and on the fields of play. All grade point averages are based on a 4.0 scale.

The six female student-athletes to receive the Winter 2012 Meijer Commissioner's Awards were: Jena Stutzman of Ashland University, Shelby Janutol of Ferris State University; Kristen Hixson and Caitlyn Madsen of Grand Valley State University; Mandy Jaeb of Tiffin University, and Catherine Leix of Wayne State University.

The six male student-athletes to receive the Winter 2012 Meijer Commissioner's Awards were:  John Guagenti of the University of Findlay; Austin Biefnes and Guy Kogel of the University of Indianapolis; Mike Hojnacki of Michigan Technological University; and Fares Ksebati and Ian Larkin of Wayne State University.

Janutol is a three-time GLIAC All-Academic Team honoree in both track and cross country. She became the school's first-ever NCAA Elite 89 Award recipient for holding the highest grade point average of all female competitors at the 2012 NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships.

At the 2012 NCAA indoor meet, Janutol helped the women's distance medley relay squad to a fourth-place overall performance in a school-record time of 11:36.37 and earned All-America honors. Janutol is a biology major and currently has a 4.00 GPA.

Visit this link for the complete GLIAC release: